What I’m Reading: Moosewood Restaurant New Classics: 350 Recipes for Homestyle Favorites and Everyday Feasts

My trips to the library make me feel like a kid in a candy store (Or more like: the little girl watching Disney’s Beauty and the Beast for the first time, awestruck at the huge library with floor to ceiling books and ladders on wheels– that is my dream library!!). Once I get started in one of my favorite sections (cooking, social history or crime novels), I tend to walk out of there with anywhere from 5 (if I’ve behaved) to 10 books or more. Luckily, libraries are free, if I remember to return or renew on time, and we have an awesome library system where I live.

Moosewood Restaurant New Classics is the second Moosewood book I’ve checked out, and it’s every bit as good as the previous one. Moosewood is a natural foods restaurant catering to vegetarians and vegans, and they put out a new cook book every few years. If you don’t eat vegetarian food on a regular basis, their food will blow your mind. Healthy– yes, but also creative, tasty and satisfying. And, carnivores can add meat to most dishes if they like.

My criteria for purchasing a cookbook are as follows: 

1. Is it available in the library? If yes, check it out! (This is pretty much my first step, I tend to avoid purchasing cookbooks in stores on impulse without researching first… I don’t have enough shelf space to do this anymore).

2. Are there at least ten recipes that I want to make? If yes, I mark those with sticky notes for future reference.

3. Did I make 3-5 of the recipes that I wanted to make, time permitting? Did I like how the food turned out?

4. If I answer yes to #2 and #3, then I look for the book on Amazon.com and either add it to my cart or my wishlist for a future purchase or gift.

If there’s only one or two recipes that I like, I’ll write those down on a notepad and return the book to the library.

So- here’s what I want to make in this book (that I haven’t already made):

Asparagus with Red Pepper Sauce
Bulghur with Caramelized Onions
Roasted Pepper & Onion Wrap
Green Olive & Artichoke Tapenade
Israeli Couscous & French Green Lentils
Orecchiette with Butter Beans
Middle Eastern Lentils and Pasta
Apple Onion Cheese Gratin
Caramelized Onion Tart
Pine Nut Pasta Cavalfiore
Presto! Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Raspberry Glaze (I’m making this for my roommate after Lent!)

Here’s what I’ve made so far:

Roasted Caramelized Balsamic Onions (Yes, this is every bit as good as it sounds, and no I didn’t take any pictures– we ate them all! One of the few recipes that I used butter for)
Baked Ziti with Roasted Peppers (Yum yum yum)
Pumpkin Cornmeal Biscuits (pretty alright; a nice change of pace from the usual biscuit)
Pumpkin Muffins (threw some chocolate chips in these– very tasty!)
Curried Lentil Dip (great served with veggies or even as a sauce for other dishes-like Khitcheree).

5 recipes made is pretty good for me, especially when I have four other cookbooks I’m reading simultaneously… though this one is definitely one of my favs.

All in all, a great book, with helpful information about food- types of beans, seaweed, etc. and ordering information for some of the more exotic or hard to find items interspersed throughout the text. I will be very sad when I have to return this book… I may just have to make it a permanent member of my collection.

 

Note: the author of this blog has no affiliation with Moosewood or the publisher, and received no compensation for this post.

One thought on “What I’m Reading: Moosewood Restaurant New Classics: 350 Recipes for Homestyle Favorites and Everyday Feasts

  1. Pingback: Focaccia Scones | Bread and Butter

Leave a Reply

